The Furies of Calderon – What I’m Currently Reading

It took me a long time to decide what to read after I finished Sabriel (I’ll add a review later on). This book has been on my to read list for a very long time and I was looking for a book in the fantasy genre and with a magical system.

Furies

The Furies of Calderon (The Codex Alera book 1) by Jim Butcher comes highly recommended in the fantasy genre. It’s a fantasy tale where people can control the elements: water, air, earth, fire, wood, and metal, through a person’s bond with an element’s fury. I think I will enjoy it a lot more than the author’s urban fantasy series The Dresden Files (I read the first 2 books and decided not to continue).

I’m currently in chapter 5 and so far the book is intriguing, fast pace and the characters are likable. However, I still haven’t been able to imagine exactly how furies work but I assume it’ll get more easier to understand as I read further.

Lately my reading pace has been slow, I’m not able to find the time to sit and read as often as I would like. So I think it’ll take me a while to finish this although I hope it becomes so intriguing that I won’t be able to let it down. Let’s see…

Leave a Reply

