The Blade Itself – What I’m Currently Reading

It’s not really “reading” but actually What I’m Currently “Listening” to. I read many reviews that say one of the best audio books in fantasy is “The Blade Itself”. It’s the first book in the First Law Trilogy by Joe Abercrombie. I already had this book on my to-read list and was wondering what book to get with my audible credit, so after listening to a sample, I got it!

944073

This is my first read for this author, so I’m quite unfamiliar with his style but so far I’d have to say it’s very interesting (I’m about 20% through). The narrator Steven Pacey also does an excellent job narrating this book. I can tell who is speaking just by the tone and accent he uses for the character and he also does good voice acting, for example when the character whispers, when scared, when tired, etc. To make sure I’m not missing any details in the book I’m following the tor.com re-read of the book chapter by chapter. This way I also get to know the proper spelling of the characters’ names (I like to be able to visualize the spelling of a name to memorize the character better).

So far I don’t see a clear plot yet but I’m more familiar with the different characters and somewhat with the world they live in. The story line is easy to follow and there is a good level of detail when describing a scene which makes it easier to imagine.  Let’s see how the remaining of the book goes.

2 thoughts on “The Blade Itself – What I’m Currently Reading

Leave a Reply

